27.—Legislatures of Alberta, 1935-60, as at Apr. 30, 1963

Note.—Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 82, and for 1924-34 in the 1938 edition, p. 117.

Date of Election	Legislature	Number of Sessions	Date of First Opening	Date of Dissolution
Aug. 22, 1935	8th	9	Feb. 6, 1936	Feb. 16, 1940
Mar. 21, 1940	9th	4	Feb. 20, 1941	July 7, 1944
Aug. 8, 1944	10th	5	Feb. 22, 1945	July 16, 1948
Aug. 17, 1948	11th	5	Feb. 17, 1949	June 28, 1952
Aug. 5, 1952	12th	3	Feb. 19, 1953	May 12, 1955
June 29, 1955	13th	5	Aug. 17, 1955	May 9, 1959
June 18, 1959	14th	5	Feb. 11, 1960	May 9, 1963

28.—Eighth Ministry of Alberta, as at Apr. 30, 1963 1

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 18, 1959: 61 Social Credit, 1 Liberal, 1 Progressive Conservative, 1 Coalition and 1 Independent Social Credit.) ¹

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier and President of Council and Attorney General. Minister of Municipal Affairs. Minister of Highways. Minister of Education. Minister of Public Welfare. Minister of Lands and Forests. Provincial Treasurer. Minister of Public Works. Minister of Industry and Development and Minister of Mines and Minerals. Minister of Labour and Minister of Telephones. Minister of Health. Minister of Agriculture. Provincial Secretary. Minister without Portfolio. Minister without Portfolio.	Hon. Ernest C. Manning Hon. Alfred J. Hooke Hon. Gordon E. Taylor Hon. Anders O. Aalborg Hon. Leonard C. Halmrast Hon. Norman A. Willmore Hon. Edgar W. Hinman Hon. Fred. C. Colborne Hon. A. Russell Patrick Hon. Raymond Reierson Hon. Dr. J. Donovan Ross Hon. Harry E. Strom Hon. Ambrose Holowach Hon. Ira McLaughlin Hon. Ethel S. Wilson	Sept. 3, 1935 Apr. 20, 1945 Dec. 27, 1950 Sept. 9, 1952 Jan. 3, 1953 Nov. 10, 1953 Dec. 23, 1954 Aug. 2, 1955 Aug. 2, 1955 Sept. 18, 1957 Oct. 15, 1962 Oct. 15, 1962 Nov. 30, 1962 Nov. 30, 1962	May 31, 1943 Aug. 2, 1955 Aug. 2, 1955 May 1, 1951 Sept. 9, 1952 Oct. 15, 1962 Aug. 2, 1955 Aug. 2, 1955 Nov. 30, 1962 {Sept. 1, 1959 Oct. 15, 1962 Sept. 22, 1959 Sept. 18, 1957 Oct. 15, 1962 Oct. 15, 1962 Nov. 30, 1962 Nov. 30, 1962

¹ At a General Election held June 17, 1963, the Social Credit Party was returned to power and all members of the Executive Council were re-elected. Party standing: 60 Social Credit, 1 Liberal, 1 Coalition and 1 Independent.

Subsection 10.—British Columbia

The Government of British Columbia has a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. Maj.-Gen. the Hon. George Randolph Pearkes, Lieutenant-Governor at Apr. 30, 1963, was commissioned to office Oct. 13, 1960. Lieutenant-Governors from Confederation (1871) to 1959 are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 118.

The Legislative Assembly, elected for a statutory term of five years, has 52 members. Premiers from Confederation to 1959 are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 118.